And Jesus wept


And Jesus wept

Last week I was invited to a shelter to address about 50 men and women. I thought I had prepared my speech well, but when I got there and got talking to some people there, everything changed the whole scenario and subject of my visit there. I am a confident person, but this weekend I faltered a little. The stories were sad. I thought my situation, where I have come from and where I have been was bad but I realised I was blessed. One young girl caught my sight; let’s call her Fatima, aged 14. This young lady first asked me if I knew how to fix her head scarf because she is Muslim and since she had a stroke no one has tied her head scarf for her. As I fixed her headscarf for her, she asked me again if I could feed her before I addressed the residents, but she wanted to have her meal in her room. Anyway I wheeled her to her room and there were scarcely any personal effects in there but a couple of photos of a very handsome young boy aged about 3. I asked if that was her brother, her answer shocked me. No, that was her son. She was raped in Somalia and she was trafficked here soon after. Its only after a month she was held somewhere that she realised she was pregnant. She had a stroke whilst in labour. She was aged 11 and she has been bedridden for 3 years. She wondered if I could be a big sister to her and come visit her sometime, and do girly things with her like make-up and open an account for her on facebook too. Her dream one day is to go to America and be whatever she wants to be. That moment I remembered the shortest verse in the Bible And Jesus wept.

I realised this is not the shortest verse in the Bible; it is the longest in fact. Everything about Jesus and Gods love is there, right in front of us. He did not cry, he wept. That is how I felt I have cried many a time but I wept because the emotions were too much for me. A young girl has gone through so much and no one to hug her and jut let her know there is life, there is hope, and there is a future. I hugged her so much I did not want to let go. I will get the money somehow to get her a laptop and put her on facebook. This weekend sobered me up. I have re read the verse Jesus wept and relieve the day and the emotions I am getting are heart wrecking.

About redflamefire

Published Writer, Blogger and Sunday School Teacher. Aspiring to have a bestseller under my belt and set up a charity that will empower generations to realise their dreams and potential. I advocate for no violence and abuse in marriages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to And Jesus wept

  1. graftedinbyfaith says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this precious experience……It blessed me and as Jesus did, I wept.

  2. RealGOoDCup says:

    Awesome and touching! You did not faulter my sister. You did what God needed you to do. Right place, right time, in God’s will. SPREAD THE LOVE! I am on facebook.com/christopherrayberry and twitter @C_R_B

  3. flyoverhere says:

    Wonderful and inspiring!

  4. A very moving post, reminds me of the nursing home I worked in.

  5. anonymousmomma says:

    wow. beautiful. Just absolutely beautiful

  6. juliemomyer says:

    I am praying for that little girl. May God bless and heal her.

  7. annafig19 says:

    We cannot fixture world’s problems but as you did for Fatima, we can do what we can for those we are blessed to meet. God bless you and God bless Fatima.

  8. This just plowed into my emotions like a Buick. What an amazing story. I’m so glad you clicked that “like” button on my blog– I’m now following yours.

  9. JaneEmily says:

    This is beautiful. You were put in her life for a purpose. When you get her on facebook, let me know. I would like to be her friend.

  10. Powerful Message…Awesome.

  11. soumyav says:

    very touching indeed..

  12. juliemomyer says:

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    So heartbreaking…

  13. Pingback: For the Love of Blog « Moonbeam McQueen

  14. s4ndm4n2006 says:

    Beautifully written post about a wonderfully compassionate lady. It is so good to have found your blog and see how your heart goes out to those in need. :’) Indeed, He still weeps for so many…. Thank you for sharing.

  15. JaneEmily says:

    Reblogged this on Jane's Unsound Mind and commented:
    I encourage you to read this post written by another blogger. May it touch your life as it has touched mine.

    • redflamefire says:

      thank u for reblogging

      • JaneEmily says:

        You’re welcome. This is a beautiful story of Christ’s love. I am sad for what she has gone through but God has a plan for her. This story was sad but beautiful because Christ’s love was exemplified through you. Again, please let me know when you get her up and running on facebook as I would love to be her friend.

  16. Noel says:

    Excellent post! You served as God’s servant when you spent that time with this young lady. God bless you.

  17. Chrystal says:

    Wow. Thanks for telling us about that. And I loved this line: “I realised this is not the shortest verse in the Bible; it is the longest in fact.”

  18. easyondeyes says:

    Hoping the little girl heals faster – physically and mentally! You’re an angel πŸ™‚

  19. Pingback: The Sunshine Blog Award « Jane's Unsound Mind

  20. JaneEmily says:

    I nominated you for a sunshine blog award. I mentioned your blog in my post here: http://janesunsoundmind.wordpress.com/

  21. wow… that is overwhelming. I thank you for sharing it with the “world”.

  22. jfay1995 says:

    What a lovely piece! It’s too bad there are a lot of Fatima’s out there that have had a hard life. I hope she and other’s like her get to come to USA and get a Facebook account and a new lease on life. Thanks for the share.

  23. Thanks for sharing this sad and powerful story. I believe you’re right about this being Jesus’ fundamental message and teaching. Although technically not a Christian myself, I agree with most of the things he’s said to have said, and that the world would be a much better place if more people could apply them to their lives, as you obviously have. I wish you continued success and happiness on your journey. Heaven belongs to those who live to give.

  24. Norma says:

    When I read stories like this one, it is such a reminder of what a blessed life I have lived. I don’t have any problems, only blessings

Leave a Reply

