My birthright


These hands

 

These hands are hands that have touched and seen better days. They have blister upon blister and they have worked these fields from the days of my childhood. As my mother hoed the fields because we could not afford to keep any cows for farming I followed behind her and pulled the weeds up with my hands. As I grew up I would rise early in the morning pick up my hoe and carry fertilizer from manure and walk past the dunghill and work with these hands.

These hands have worked their life’s worth. Each line and level of roughness is a year each of how hard I have worked. Sometimes when I feel let down and tired I look at my hands and I remember where the hands are there is life, and where there are legs too there is hope. Where the eye is present there is hope and where the nose stills smell there is life.

Yes there is everything on me and these hands are a constant reminder. I will work these hands and give a future to my children and my grandchildren and those yet to come. These hands have given much and I will cherish them. Oh I will cherish the toe too and the grey hair and even the missing tooth

About redflamefire

Published Writer, Blogger and Sunday School Teacher. Aspiring to have a bestseller under my belt and set up a charity that will empower generations to realise their dreams and potential. I advocate for no violence and abuse in marriages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My birthright

  1. James says:

    This is very nice, my father in law’s hands are rough from many years of hard work. He is a farmer. I work with my hands too but they only have a few rough patches on them. My father in law says by the time I am his age my hands will be just as rough as his…

  2. Paul says:

    Me too I worked ona farm when I was 10.. right up untill I was 17, after school and on a saturday. Sunday, I went to church. I stil love the countryside, farming well?… thank the Lord for those who labour in the fields.
    Thanks for your post today
    Paul

  3. I’m just stopping by to let you know that I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! You can check it out on my page! 🙂
    http://thesecretsofasouthernbelle.wordpress.com/2012/04/27/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  4. Raised doing this for a living plus farming our own rented land so I can identify with this-but now your hands are creating new life in words-very good.

Leave a Reply

